Fields of Athenry 10k 2016

This years race was sponsored by Hygeia and we are very grateful for their support. Race Director Jim Leahy and his committee organised yet another very successful event. Now in its 15th year The Fields of Athenry 10km attracted 1031 athletes who took on the single loop of the 10km route which started at the train station and finished under the famous Arch. Weather conditions were perfect as we experienced the calm after storm Barbara! A headwind was reported for the first 4km after which the athletes experienced gentler and more pleasant weather as the sun appeared and it remained dry.

Men’s Results
Mick Clohisey, Shamrock AC 39:35 (5th consecutive win)
Matt Bidwell, GCH 32:48 (finished 3rd in 2015 and 2014)
Brian Furey, Rathfarnham WSAF AC 33:12

Women’s Results
Laura Shaughnessy, Dundrum South Dublin 35:03 (finishing 9th overall and recording a new course record)
Jane Ann Meehan, Athenry AC 37:43
Grainne Ni Uallachain, GCH 38:48

The following represented the club:
David Meehan 36:17, Jane Ann Meehan 37:43, Niall Hardiman 38:20, Chris Deakin 39:49 (Pacer), Mark Hannon 40:43 (Pacer), Michael Duane 44:45 (Pacer), Brendan Galvin 44:45 (Pacer), Bernie Mulryan 45:24, Shannon Lee 46:27, Catherine Burke 47:55, Evan Quirke 48:15, Pat Callanan 49:05, Mary Kealy 49:30 (Pacer), Donal Leahy 49:41 (Pacer), Mary Kate Dilger 50:01, Bridget Murray 50:14, Cathy Amelia 50:44, Martin Keane 52:44, Sean O’Shea 53:28, Dorcas Whitney 53:31, Jim Cloonan 53:42, Frank Noone 53:59, Martin Hynes 55:30, Esther Leahy 55:19 (Pacer), Kenneth O’Hara 55:21 (Pacer), Sean Freeney 55:32, Michael Mitchell 56:29, Sheila Kelly 57:27, Fergus Mullins 58:40, Michael Glynn 1:02:36, Diane Collins 1:04:48, Bernie Rogers 1:17:52

Thank you to our sponsors.

Main Sponsor

Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors